Maphosa .


BORN: 7 July 1987.
POB: Mpilo Hospital in Bulawayo.
POSITION: Midfielder cum Defender.
NICKNAME: Muthu (Author Tutani gave me that nickname when I was at Monoz. It’s just a short cut of Mthulisi).Some of my friends call me Comoros. HOOD: Mpopoma, Bulawayo.

WEIGHT: 69kg.

HEIGHT: 1,79m.

JERSEY NUMBER: 6. But I love wearing number eight.

SHOE SIZE: 10.

LANGUAGES: Ndebele, Shona, English and Swahili.

SCHOOLS ATTENDED: Mazwi Primary for Grade 1, Maveni Primary School for Grade 2 and Masuku Primary until Grade 7. Ihlathi Secondary School and Lobengula Secondary School. I was at Foundation College for my A-Levels but later dropped out because of soccer commitments. I couldn’t balance both. I was doing Arts subjects.

WHY ALL THOSE SCHOOLS: My family was disjointed. I stayed with grandmother and my mothers’ sister. I never stayed with my mother. It was tough because my dad was a polygamist.

TEAM SUPPORTED: Highlanders, Zimbabwe Saints, Orlando Pirates and Arsenal.

FAVOURITE MEAL: Rice and Roasted Chicken.

STRENGTHS: I have massive endurance. I am good ball passer whether long or short. My marking is water tight. I don’t give up easy even if we are trailing against opponents.

WEAKNESS: My shots are no longer powerful and effective. But I need to defeat that in my mind.

HEROES: I loved the Willard Khumalo and Nqobizitha Maenzanise style of play. I was also inspired by Ronald ‘Gidiza’ Sibanda. I think we play the same type of football.

MESSI/RONALDO: Ronaldo is great. I think Messi is surrounded by good players who do the donkey work for him but Ronaldo is hardworking.

TEMPER: I am short tempered. Its one thing I need to control in life to achieve my goals. Sometimes I get crazy over silly things.

PHONE: Nokia X2.

FAVOURITE COLOUR: Blue is cool.

TOUGHEST OPPONENT: I am not afraid of any player. I loved playing against Ashley Rambanepasi. He has a never die spirit.

INTERNATIONAL CAPS: I played for the national team from the U17, U20, U23 and the senior team. I have lost count of the caps.

TUNES: House and Freddy Gwala’s music.

WHEELS: I drive a Mazda MPV family.

CHICK, WIFE FIANCÉE: I am married to Janet Katedza.

FAMILY: I am the only child of Roseline Dungeni and Lameck Maphosa.

KIDS: I am proud of my twin boys, Siyabonga and Sandile. They are four-months old.

BOOZE: Viceroy is the best.

HAIRSTYLE: Bold Head. I used to have kinky and tinted hair.

DESCRIBE YOURSELF IN THREE WORDS: Talkative, Jovial and Fearless.

BEST FRIEND: Prince Viva Tshuma. We went to school together. He is based in South Africa but we communicate daily. I miss my boy.

FAVOURITE TEAMMATE: Bhekimpilo ‘Barca’ Ncube. He is huge but he has tremendous skills. Unfortunately he hasn’t been playing many games because of an ankle problem.

WHO DO PEOPLE COMPARE U WITH? Ronald ‘Gidiza’ Sibanda. It’s because of our dribbling skills and the same position.

CLOTHING LABELS: I wear anything that’s fits me. I have a collection of fancy jeans.

PERFUME: I buy any perfume that comes my way when shopping.

TELL ME SOMETHING PEOPLE DON’T KNOW ABOUT YOU: My father had three wives and he passed away in 1997. Its not easy to be brought up within a polygamous family.

FORMER CLUBS: Zim Saints, Sporting lions, Monoz, TP Mazembe DRC, FC Platinum.

BEST ADVICE GIVEN: Cosmas ‘Tsano’ Zulu, my first Premiership coach at Zim Saints told me to keep pushing for my position wherever I go. I was the youngest player and people thought he favoured me. He later resigned at Chikwata.

BEST COACHES: Cosmas Zulu introduced me to top flight football, Norman Mapeza, Friday ‘Amayenge’ Phiri moulded me. My current coach Kelvin Kaindu is so supportive.

HAVE YOU EVER MISSED A PENALTY? Yes. It’s still fresh in my mind; against our arch rivals Dynamos last Sunday. It was saved by George Chigova. It was my first miss and I’m hoping it is the last.

RED CARDS: At Monoz in 2005. It was for a second bookable offence. We were playing against Eastern Lions and it was a biased decision by Kenny Marange.

HONOURS: PSL Championship in 2008 with Monoz. League champions in 2010 with TP Mazembe in DRC. Linafoods Cup with TP Mazembe. African Champions League with TP Mazembe 2010. The Vodacom U20 twice. Soccer Star Of The Year finalist in 2008 and 2009. Cosafa tournament in 2009.

WHAT WILL YOU BE DOING IN FIVE YEARS TIME? I will still be playing top flight football.

LIFE AFTER FOOTBALL: Maybe coaching.

TARGET OF THE SEASON: Definitely to win the league and to be the soccer star of the year. I also want to bounce back into the national team.

FEARS: Fear does not exist in my vocabulary.

WHAT HAPENNED AT TP MAZEMBE? I had no game time. I used to play as a substitute. I felt frustrated and opted out after a year. My papers were also forged because their contracts were written in French. I was just frustrated and left.

FC PLATINUM: I had one year contract but I was suspended after my arrest on attempted murder charges. Thank God they paid me all my money.

YOU WERE AQCUITED OF ATTEMPTED MURDER CHARGES, HOW DO YOU FEEL? Relieved. Thank God for the justice. I was provoked. The media was too harsh on me. It exaggerated everything to the nation.

WHAT REALLY TRANSPIRED? I was coming from Zvishavane and went for booze. I had scored that day and I was just excited. It was a minor scuffle. But I was pricked when the guy insulted my mother. I had a small knife on my key holder and I stabbed him once. I was really mad.

LIFE AT BOSSO: I am enjoying every moment.

BOSSO FANS: They have been nice to me from day one. I want to honour them by winning the league for them. They appreciate me. But I hate it when they treat me like a small god wherever I meet them.

HOW ABOUT YOUR TEAMMATES? I am a senior player in terms of experience. They expect so much from me and I am supposed to lead by example.

WHAT DO YOU THINK ABOUT KELVIN KAINDU? He has faith in me. He is like a dad?

DO YOU HAVE INTENTIONS TO LEAVE ZIM AGAIN IF AN OPPORTUNITY COMES? On condition that it’s a good offer. I am still playing good football.

AND WHERE DO YOU WANT TO GO: Anywhere as long as there is money.

PROMISES: I will remain the BEST among the BEST.

WARRIORS: I still have a soft spot for the national team but it will not be easy to think of going back because of Rahman Gumbo.

WHY? It’s personal.

ASIAGATE: I never travelled with the team because I had an injury. I am not in the scandal. By Sbue

One comment on “Maphosa .

  1. Thsanks Madawu for the interview. Am happy that the boy is back home despite his money mongering instincts!

Leave a Reply

